If you’re getting over a bad break-up and worried about running into your ex on Facebook, then a new series of tools could halt this worry.
Facebook has announced a series of optional tools that will allow its users to control the interaction that they have with their former partners. These have recently been tested in the U.S. – and depending on the feedback that Facebook receives, further changes will be made, or these tools will be rolled out further.
Users will be able to access the functionality in the Facebook help section. Once someone changes his or her relationship status to indicate that that relationship is no more, the user will be guided to the set of tools which can quickly and swiftly ensure that contact with an ex is kept limited. Product manager Kelly Winters concluded that these tools will help users through tricky break-ups while making their Facebook experience easier as a result:
‘This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives. We hope these tools will help people end relationships on Facebook with greater ease, comfort and sense of control.’
The tools include a facility that allows the user to see less of a former partner’s name and profile picture on the site without having to resort to block or unfriend. Any posts relating to the former partner won’t show up, and furthermore, their name will not show up when someone else writes a new message or tags friends in photos.
In addition, users can limit the photos, videos or status updates that a former partner can see. Users can also edit who can see their past posts with their former partner and untag themselves from posts containing their ex.